About Us

The Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal hears and determines disciplinary proceedings brought against health practitioners.The Tribunal has produced a useful guide setting out the usual procedures to be followed before and during a hearing. To download a copy of the guide please click on this link: Guide to Disciplinary Proceedings

The Tribunal comprises a chairperson, two deputy chairpersons and panel comprising laypersons and health practitioners. All members of the Tribunal are appointed by the Minister of Health. When the Tribunal sits to hear and determine a charge it comprises five people:

  • The Chairperson or one of the deputy chairpersons;
  • A lay person appointed from the panel;
  • Three health professionals appointed from the panel and who are professional peers of the health practitioner who is the subject of the hearing.


  • Mr David Carden, a barrister who practises in Auckland

Deputy Chairpersons

  • Ms Maria Dew, a barrister who practises in Auckland;
  • Mr Kenneth Johnston QC who practises in Wellington.

Executive Officers Under the Act each Registration Authority appoints an executive officer to the Tribunal who is responsible for administrative functions associated with the Tribunal. The Executive Officers are:



Executive Officer

Contact Details

Dietitians Board
Sue Domanski
Ph: 04 474 0746
Clinical Dental Technicians
Dental Hygienists
Dental Technicians
Dental Therapists
Medical Laboratory Scientists and Technicians
Medical Practitioners
Medical Radiation Technologists
Occupational Therapists
Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians
{Gay Fraser
Kim Davies
Debra Gainey}
Ph: 04 381 6816
Jacquelyn Manley